August Book Haul

I really try not to buy any books… I really do…

But well here we are again…

Heide Solveig Göttner – Der Herr der Dunkelheit

Blurb:

Das Schicksal der Welt liegt in der Hand einer jungen Frau. Amra, die Dienerin des Totengottes, setzt dm Kampf gegen die Mächte fort, die die Insel der Stürme in den Abgrund reißen wollen. Auf der Flucht vor den grausamen Ziegenkriegern sind Amra und ihre Gefährten im Norder der Insel gestrandet. Dort geraten sie in einen Hinterhalt, und der düstere Gott bringt Lillia, das magische Kind, in seine Gewalt. Als er sie auf das Schiff der Toten verschleppt, scheint alles verloren. Doch der Schwertkämpfer Gorun setzt sein Leben aufs Spiel, um Lillia aus den Klauen der Herrn der Dunkelheit zu befreien…

It’s a fantasy novel that I stumbled upon and that I bought because it was cheap. It sounds interesting and deals with Gods, warriors and dark things. I honestly have no idea what this is about. But there is no harm in trying to figure it out, is there?

CIMG0431 CIMG0393

Andrea Schacht – Der Dunkle Spiegel

Blurb:

„Man sagt, dass der Spiegel nicht nur das Antlitz des Menschen zeigt, sondern dass er auch seine Seele festhält. Ein dunkler Spiegel bedeutet, dass die Seele verloren ist – er bedeutet den Tod.“

Köln im Jahr des Herrn 1376. Sind die selbstbewussten Frauen des Beginen-Konvents am Eigelstein etwas Ketzerinnen und Giftmischerinnen? Die junge Begine Almut Bossart, Witwe eines Baumeisters, macht sich kühn an die Aufklärung des Giftmordes im Haus eines Weinhändlers. Doch nicht nur die Neugier treibt sie – es steht zu befürchten, dass die Inquisition sie selbst für die Tat verfolgen wird…

A crime story set in 14th century Germany. I am always a little reluctant to read historical novels but since this is a crime story, I am somewhat on the safe side. I hope. The book sounds really interesting and in addition deals with the issue of Inquisition. This should make a good mix.

Mit Miss Marple aufs Land

Blurb:

Die englische Idylle mit Pfarrhaus, Pub, Tearoom, Cottage-Garten und Dorfladen ist, wenn man den Queens of Crime von Agatha Christie, Patricia Wentworth, Caroline Graham, Jean G. Goodhind, Dorothy L. Sayers, P.D. James, Val McDermid, Ann Granger, Elizabeth George, Minette Walters, Ruth Rendell, Margery Allingham, Ngaio Marsh bis Daphne du Maurier glauben darf, immer wieder in Gefahr. Doch zum Glück gibt es so couragierte Damen wie Miss Marple oder mit trockenem Humor ausgestattete Ermittler wie Inspector Barnaby, die beim Tee im Herrenhaus oder beim Cricket auf dem Land die entscheidenden Indizien zur Lösung des Falles finden. Luise Berg-Ehlers hat sich auf ihrer Reise durch englische Dörfer und Universitätsstädte auf die Spur großartiger Krimischriftstellerinnen begeben, die – anders als ihre literarischen Opfer- unsterblich wurden.

This beauty was a present from my mother and it was in my mail box on a day that was just one of those „bad“ days. It sure made me happy. I saw this book in book store a while ago and thought that I should definitely get this at one point. The author of this book traveled through English villages to investigate the settings used by classic crime fiction writers and through them unravel the immense attraction of the stories by Christie, Goodhind, Sayers, McDermid, Janes, Rendell and many more.

I am really looking forward to this.

CIMG0492

Agatha Christie – After the funeral

Blurb:

When Cora is savagely murdered with a hatchet, the extraordinary remark she made the previous day at her brother Richard’s funeral suddenly takes on a chilling significance. At the reading of Richard’s will, Cora was clearly heard to say: It’s been hushed up very nicely, hasn’t it… But he has been murdered, wasn’t he?

In desperation, the family solicitor turns to Hercule Poirot to unravel the mystery…

You can’t do anything wrong with an Agatha Christie novel. It’s been quite a while since I read my last Hercule Poirot so I am actually looking forward to getting reacquainted with him.

Sarah J Maas – Crown of Midnight

Blurb:

Crowned By Evil.

Bound By Duty.

Divided By Love.

Celaena Sardothien, royal assassin, is the Kind of Ardalan’s deadliest weapon. She must win her freedom through his enemies’ blood – but she cannot bear to kill for the crown. And every death Celaena fakes, every lie she tells, puts those she loves at risk.

Torn between her two protectors – a captain and a prince – and battling a dark force far greater than the king, Celaena must decide what she will fight for: her liberty, her heart or the fate of the kingdom…

I loved the first book Throne of Glass. It was a great read, interesting, exiting, funny. So I honestly couldn’t wait for it to be published. Now that it is on my TBR pile, I hope I get read it quite soon. And the first installment just hit the German market, so I hope it will be a success.

CIMG0495

Charlaine Harris – Aimee Teagarden Mysteries (1-8)7

Blurb:

THE AURORA TEAGARDEN MYSTERIES: An omnibus edition of Roe Teagarden’s adventures! Aurora Teagarden loves reading about famous murderers – until she finds herself investigating a real-life killing spree! Lawrenceton, Georgia, may be a growing suburb of Atlanta, but it’s still a small town at heart. Librarian Aurora Teagarden – Roe – grew up there, and she reckons she knows everything about her fellow townsfolk, including which ones share her interest in the darker side of human nature. (Amazon)

Charlaine Harris – Lily Bard Mysteries (1-5)

Blurb:

Lily Bard a cleaning Lady with a secret past starts over in the sleepy town of Shakespeare, Arkansas. The hobby martial arts fighter helps solve criminal cases (more or less voluntarily).

Charlaine Harris – Grave Sight

Blurb:

I have what you might call a strange job: I find dead people. I can sense the final location of a person who’s passed and share their very last moment. The way I see it, I’m providing a service to the dead while bringing some closure to the living – but I’m used to most people treating me like a blood-sucking leech…

Harper and her stepbrother Tolliver are experts at getting in,getting paid, and then getting out of town fast, because the people who hire Harper have funny habit of not really wanting to know what she has to tell them. At first, the little Ozarks town of Sarne seems like no exception. A teenage has gone missing, and Harper knows almost immediately that this girl is dead. But the secrets of her death, and the secrets of the town, are deep enough that even Harper’s special ability can’t uncover them. With hostility welling up all around them, she and Tolliver would like nothing better than to be on their way. But then another woman is murdered. And the killer’s not finished yet…

I got all of Charlaine Harris books above as a bargain. I honestly did not know what I was getting into because I have only read her Sookie novels (and only 4 so far). But since I enjoyed them very much, I like crime stories, and either the title or the protagonist are somewhat connected to books, I am sure I will enjoy them. At least I have all of them.

 

Leave a Reply

