Moira Young – Rebel Heart (Dust Lands #2)

CIMG0398

paperback
publisher: Scholastic
published 2012
pages: 393

Book on Amazon

Blurb:

There is a price on Saba’s head.

They call her the angel of death. She defeated a tyrant, but victory has come at a cost. Haunted by the ghosts of her past, she needs Jack. His moonlit eyes, his reckless courage, his wild heart. But Jack has left and a ruthless new enemy searches for Saba across the Dustlands…

In (Very) Short:

+ second book in the Dust Lands trilogy
+ fast paced story
+ likeable old and new characters except for Saba’s brother
+ surprising and shocking twists
– narration dragged on in the middle of the novel, but picked up again

My Opinion:

Blood Red Road was a book that I could not quite wrap my head around. Even weeks and weeks after I read the book I still have difficulties to put it into words. I was never so annoyed with a character in my life and yet couldn’t stop reading. In those cases I usually quit reading. So when I started Rebel Heart I was pretty sure that this would be different. I learned to like Saba during the previous novel, so there would be no problem. Well, not quite: Saba was not my problem, I liked her. But her brother… Let’s just start at the beginning.

(SPOILER: don’t read this paragraph if you haven’t read the first book)

Saba and Lugh are reunited. They are trapped in a desert, arguing, fighting, and desperate. When Saba gets news from Jack that he needs her, she heads his way without thinking, without a plan and chaos ensues.

Similar to the first book the writing was the same (no quotation marks and a unique use of the English language), the story was fast paced and exiting. In addition to the old comrades I met previously (Emmy, Tommo, Maev, Jack etc.) we meet knew characters and get to know previously only mentioned ones as well. The characters are likeable and some of them quite funny. But Saba’s brother Lugh just rubbed me the wrong way. I wanted to physically hurt him (I am usually a nice and lovely person 🙂 Maybe that is just me.

Though the story was fast paced and exiting, it was not as good as the first one. At times it seemed a little stretched and a little forced, but picked up again towards the end and included some (for me) quite shocking twists and what I lovingly call WTF moments (pardon my French).

However, it did not answer as many questions as I hoped. I have even more now. Which is probably a good sign since I want to pick up the next book rather sooner than later.

Bottom Line:

A book that I could not put down, a trilogy that I long to finish, questions that need to be answered. Need next installment!

Rating:

rating 4

One thought on “Moira Young – Rebel Heart (Dust Lands #2)

  1. Pingback: End of Year Review | Franzi's Book Chase

Leave a Reply

