My Reading Month November

After some turbulence during November and December I did not manage to read as much as I would have liked to. I managed three books which were all lovely and entertaining reads. However, this month my audio book list exploded. While I usually listen to audio books when I run, the past month I listened to them in the car (usually I am a train person and then I can read a lot more, but reading a book while driving is not the best idea 😉 . One of the audio books was actually in English and the others were German books. There will be an extra monthly review of my audio books a little later. But let’s return to the books I did manage to read.

CIMG0644

Marissa Meyer – Cinder

 My month started with Marissa Meyer’s Cinder. I came across the book in the library and it was „advertised“ as a science fiction retelling of a fairytale. And boy it was. I really enjoy fairy tales especially now when Christmas is coming closer, but I can read a fairy tale any time of the year.

I thoroughly enjoyed this one. Cinder is a cyborg and lives with her wicked stepmother and her stepsisters in a the future city New Beijing. There are aliens living on the moon, there are talking and thinking robots, and there is the charming prince. Some of the twists and turns were somewhat predictable and the story ended with a cliffhanger (not a bad one), so I am really interested how this is gonna continue and if Marissa Meyer will use other fairy tales to be interwoven with Cinderella. I will have to wait and see.

CIMG0693

Tom Angelberger – Horton Halfpott: oder das teuflische Geheimnis von Schloss Eigenbrötl oder wie sich Lady Luggertucks Korsett lockerte

After my excursion to the science fiction genre I read an adventure/crime/mystery story for children. This was a really fun and entertaining book with a loveable main character, an adventure, a swamp, and a wonderfully quirky title. The title was actually the reason I picked up this book: Horton Halfpott: Or the Fiendish Mystery of Smugwick Manor or the Loosening of Mlady Luggertuck’s Corset.

Horton works in the Manor when one day Lady Luggertuck’s corset is loosened and the whole world seems to go crazy. A masquerade ball is held, a maiden suppose to be kidnapped, and the treasure of the Luggertucks is stolen, and poor Horton is caught in the middle. A really recommend it.

Jutta Wilke – Holundermond

The last book this month was from a German author Jutta Wilke. I think this crime and adventure story is her debut novel, if I am not completely mistaken and it is fantastic. The story takes us to Vienna were Nele accompanies her father, who tries to uncover the truth about stolen church relics. While he stumbles into the arms of the thief and is held captive, Nele and her new friend Flavio have to uncover the truth, find her father and save the world in the process. It seems a lot for a children’s book, but it is beautifully written and the story takes its time without loosing pace. There is a lot to learn about church relics, painting and the history of Vienna which is weaved into the story without seeming didactic. I really hope it will be translated into English at one point, because it surely is worth it.

Leave a Reply

