Marissa Meyer – Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

CIMG0644

paperback
publisher: Puffin Books
published: 2012
pages: 387

Book on Amazon

Blurb:

A Forbidden Romance.

A Deadly Plague.

Earth’s Fate Hinges On One Girl

Cinder, a gifted mechanic in New Beijing, is also a cyborg. She’s reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s sudden illness. But when her life becomes entwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s she finds herself at the centre of a violent struggle between the desires of an evil queen – and a dangerous temptation.

Cinder is caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal. Now she must uncover secrets about her mysterious past in order to protect Earth’s future.

In (Very) Short:

+ retelling of the fairy tale Cinderella
+ fun, fast paced, exiting
+ science fiction setting
+ part of a series
– sometimes a little predictable

My Opinion:

I am a sucker for fairy tales and I am always open for any form of retelling. I do enjoy the classic story and I have seen the Disney version of Cinderella many times (maybe I also know the words to all the songs of the Disney movie…), but since I am a little SciFi nerdy, I was exited when I came across this version in the library. And I was not disappointed.

Cinderella is now called Cinder and is part human, part machine – she is a cyborg. She works for her evil stepmother, who despises her (she was adopted by her husband on one of his trips and he has since passed away) as does her older sister. Her younger sister, however, loves her but gets infected with a future form of the plague (a sickness that cannot be cured so far). When Cinder gets drafted to be a guinea pig for scientists, she meets the handsome prince and becomes a thorn in the flesh of an evil queen.

I thoroughly enjoyed the story. It was an interesting take on the fairy tale. I loved the science fiction elements, I liked Cinder and her robot friend. I despised the stepmother and I was not sure how to feel about her oldest sister. It was not as if she was mean and evil though and through. There were tiny glimpses of some form of compassion or at least shame of what she did.

The writing was fluent and breezy and the intergalactic aspect of the story gave it a lovely twist, since there was not only one evil stepmother but also an evil queen. However, when it came to Cinder’s past, it was somewhat predictable what and who she really was and not so much a surprise. Still, I am interested to see how the story develops.

Bottom Line:

A entertaining and interesting science fiction retelling of a fairy tale. Though the science fiction part might discourage some readers, it is just an aspect of the story. Even if this SciFi thing is generally not yours, you should really give it a try.

Rating:

rating 4

4 thoughts on “Marissa Meyer – Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

  1. I flew this book very quickly and I loved the fairytale retelling and the science fiction aspect, though I agree that it was a little predictable, but it is probably one of my favorite reads of 2013. I haven’t yet read Scarlet, though, so I hope to read soon and that it’s as good as I felt Cinder was. Thanks for sharing! 😀

  2. Pingback: End of Year Review | Franzi's Book Chase

  3. Pingback: My Top 5 Fairy Tale Retellings | Franzi's Book Chase

Leave a Reply

