December/January Book Haul

Marissa Meyer’s Scarlet and Pauline Francis’ Rabenlady/Raven Queen where the two books I got for Christmas and since I have already read them and the review will be up shortly or is already up, I won’t do a whole blurb-what-I-think-about-it thing on it.

But here are the books I bought in January. I really shouldn’t have gone on Ebay right after Christmas. People really want to get rid of their books. Which is good for me, but bad for my shelves. There is no space on them anymore… Anyway.

Petra Schier – Suche Weihnachtsmann biete Hund

Julia ist das Alleinsein satt. Am Heiligabend möchte sie endlich nicht mehr einsam sein. Also gibt sie eine Anzeige auf: „Vorzeigbarer Weihnachtsmann zwischen fünfundzwanzig und fünfundvierzig gesucht.“ Doch alle Schreiben, die sie erhält, sind an einen Mann gerichtet. Will sie da jemand zum Narren halten? Julia braucht eine Weile, bis sie begreift, dass höhere Mächte im Spiel sind, die ihr bei der Suche nach dem Glück helfen wollen. Zu ihnen gehört auch Nick, ein äußerst eigensinniger Schäferhund.

After I read my first Christmas novel/novella last year, I just bought another for this year. It’s a long time until Christmas, but it was an offer I couldn’t resist.

Das Fest der Elfen – Phantastische Weihnachtsstorys

Elfen, Geister und die Wahrheit über Santa Claus

Vereiste Täler, dunkle Nächte und winterliche Reiche – hier begehen Elfen, Dämonen und Zauberer ihr höchstes Fest. Könige verfallen weihnachtlicher Magie, Feinde werden zu Verbündeten und Santa Claus findet sein Schicksal.

Another Christmas related book this time a fantasy Christmas book. I have never heard of anything like that before when I saw this at a book store. Well, and since Christmas is gonna be here soon enough… 🙂

January Haul

Trudi Canavan – The Last of the Wilds

The war between the Circlians and Pentadrians is over, but the cost has been high and both sides.

Although the architect of the White’s victory, Auraya feels no joy. Her days are spent trying to reconcile the Dreamweavers and the priesthood, while her sleep is filled with nightmares. The dead haunt her and the only one she trusts to help has vanished.

Still struggling to come to terms with the increasingly powerful memories of the long-dead Mirar, the Dreamweaver, Leiard, flees into the mountains with Emerahl, perhaps the last of the Wilds. Emerahl is powerfully gifted, and helps Leiard to make sense of his strange jumble of memories. What they discover will change his life, and the world, forever…

Trudi Canavan – The Traitor Queen

Events are building to a climax in Sachaka as Lorkin returns from his exile with the Traitor rebels.

The Traitor Queen has given Lorkin the task of brokering an alliance between his people and the Traitors, and Lorkin has had to become a feared black magician in order to harness the power of an entirely new kind of gemstone magic. This knowledge could transform the Guild of Magicians – or make Lorkin an outcast for ever.

What can I say about Trudi. I love her. I think her world building is great, I love her writing. These books screamed my name. I want to finish the Traitor Spy Trilogy and the Traitor Queen is the final installment, so I had to get it. And I decided that I will only start the Age of Five trilogy when I have all of them. Waiting a year for the next installment is challenging, because I forget quite a bit over time. We’re all getting older. 🙂 I know the Age of Five trilogy is already complete, but for now I am collecting.

Jessica Fletcher – Murder on the QE2

Jessica Fletcher, Cabot Cove, Maine’s acclaimed mystery writer, finds herself in treacherous waters when a dream voyage in the transatlantic luxury liner Queen Elizabeth 2 becomes a nightmare journey into danger.

Jessica has accepted an offer that seems too good to be true. All she has to do for a fabulous free trip on the QE2 is give a pair of lectures on the art of the mystery and script a play to entertain her fellow passengers. But when a legendary leading lady is slain, the drama turns deadly. Jessica barely has time to champagne and caviar as she sorts through suspects who include a TV mogul and his trophy wife, a famed Italian chef, a dashing mountain climber, the judge in a notorious California murder trial,and a boatload of other beautiful people with ugly secrets. When murder strikes again, Jessica must combine her sleuthing skills with her writing talents to craft the masterpiece of their mystery-solving career – before the world’s premier floating palace sinks in a sea of blood.

I stumbled across this book by accident and what can I say – I love Murder She Wrote. It’s funny, entertaining, and it has Angela Lansbury. I have read one of those novels before and they are quite good. So I couldn’t resist, when I stumbles across this one.

Rick Riordan – Percy Jackson and the Sword of Hades

Anything Percy Jackson is fantastic!!!! I have nothing more to say. Love him.

Christine & Christopher Russell – The Warrior Sheep Down Under

Tuftella, the Fairest Ewe if All, has been imprisoned in a far and distant land filled with emus, kangaroos…and crocodiles! Only the Warrior Sheep can save her – with a little bit of help their fairy godtingy.
And so the Warrior Sheep head Down Under.
But if their fairy godtingy is supposed to be helping, why does she seem so keen to get rid of them? The Warriors are facing their biggest challenge yet…

This is the third installment in the Warrior Sheep series. I have read the previous ones and when I found this one as a bargain, I had to grab it. It’s gonna be interesting to see how they actually get to Australia. Their way to America in The Warrior Sheep Go West was wonderfully weird already.

Leave a Reply

