My Reading Month January

My reading year 2014 started pretty good. I think I have left my reading slump behind.  I managed 6 books already, which I think is a good start. Let’s see how it continues.

Marissa Meyer – Scarlet

I started my reading year with Scarlet and it was a very good start. This second installment in the Lunar Chronicles series was even better than the first. I haven’t had many books that were better than the first one, usually they are worse. But not Scarlet. I enjoyed the continuation of the story of Cinder. I thoroughly enjoyed Scarlet’s story line (which wasn’t as predictable as was Cinder’s in the previous novel) and I liked how the story came together. I am very much looking forward to the next book.

flut und fangzähne 2

Marcus Sedgwick – Flut und Fangzähne

This is a lovely, weird and quirky adventure story with a weird and quirky family. Raven Edgar lives in the castle with the family Otherhand and believes to be the only intelligent and not constantly self-involved member of the family. He is the first who notices the danger the castle and the family is in. It’s a fun read with a lovely narrator, a house with an own will, danger, adventure, and a hero raven.

Jennifer E. Smith – Die Statistische Wahrscheinlichkeit für Liebe auf den Ersten Blick

I actually picked this book up because of the title. It intrigued me. Two young people meet on a plane ride across the Atlantic and connect before they are thrown back into their own lives and realities. How much time do you need to impress someone or to feel connected? The book was entertaining and raised some interesting issues when both protagonists faced their problems and fears.

die statistische wahrscheinlichkeit

Agatha Christie – Cat Among The Pigeons

Another interesting, entertaining, and somewhat thrilling crime story, with not enough Poirot in it. Again I wasn’t sure for a very long time who the murderer could be or what the motive is. In the early part of the investigation I though I knew, only the be thrown again. But a good read through and through.

Uschi Flacke – Das Mädchen mit den Seidenraupen

Another historical young adult novel. The story is set in 16th century Lyon and the author described the time and setting so vividly that I felt like I could smell it. The descriptions were beautiful, the story interesting (I learned about silk and silk production in the 16th century), and the protagonist annoying, but she was young. 🙂

das mädchen mit den seidenraupen

Rick Riordan – Percy Jackson and the Sword of Hades

This is a lovely short story which is set between The Battle of the Labyrinth (the 4th book) and The Last Olympian (the final book in the series). This is again a wonderful story. I had to laugh so many times. I just love Percy Jackson!
And with this book you get two in one. If you turn the book, you get another – Horrible Histories: Groovy Greeks which is a short and funny telling of ancient Greek history.

Leave a Reply

