Rick Riordan – Percy Jackson and the Sword of Hades// Deary/Brown – Horrible Histories: Groovy Greeks

percy

paperback
publisher: Puffin
published: this book has been specially written and published for World Book Day 2009
pages: 151

In (Very) Short:

+ short story of Percy Jackson
+ two books in one
+ you turn the book it turns into Horrible Histories: Groovy Greeks
+ funny, entertaining, thrilling, great
+ I just love Percy Jackson

My Opinion:

This little novella, short story, or whatever you want to call it, is lovely and wonderful. I am not sure I am very objective when it comes to Percy Jackson. I love the series. So, for me everything Percy related is always good. And it is.

Here you have two books in one: first Percy Jackson and the Sword of Hades and when you turn it over you get Horrible Histories: Groovy Greeks.

The Percy Jackson story is exiting, funny, and wonderful. Percy, Thalia, and Nico are all brought together to the Underworld to help find – you guessed it – the Sword of Hades. The three friends have to battle demons, fight a titan, and stay alive to save the world.

The story is narrated from Percy’s perspective (as are all the novels) and I had to laugh out loud so many times, that people sure though I was more than a little crazy. It was a fun and exiting read and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The second book – the Horrible Histories – was a short history of Ancient Greece. The illustrations throughout this part are funny and loosen up the rather stuffy appearing history bits. The writing alone is wonderfully entertaining as well and again lots of laughs from me and more than one eye brow was raised my way, when I was reading on the train.

Bottom Line:

A wonderful and fantastic read.

Rating:

rating 5

2 thoughts on “Rick Riordan – Percy Jackson and the Sword of Hades// Deary/Brown – Horrible Histories: Groovy Greeks

  1. Pingback: My Top 5 Owned Authors | Franzi's Book Chase

  2. Pingback: My Top 5 Most Read Authors | Franzi's Book Chase

Leave a Reply

