Febuary Book Haul

Michael Grant – Hunger

It’s been three months since all adults disappeared. Gone.

Food ran out weeks ago and starvation is imminent. Meanwhile, the normal teens have grown resentful of the kids with powers. And when an unthinkable tragedy occurs, chaos descends upon the town. There is no longer right and wrong. Each kid is out for himself even the good ones turn murderous. But a larger problem looms. The Darkness, a sinister creature that has lived buried deep in the hills, begins calling to some of the teens in the FAYZ. Calling them, guiding them, manipulating them. The Darkness has awakened and it is hungry.

I have read the first book in the first half of the last year and I enjoyed it. It was interesting to see, what would happen if all adults suddenly disappear and how the youth would cope with the loss and their increasing supernatural powers. There have been many unanswered questions after GONE, but since this is a series, I doubt many will be answered any time soon. I am interested to see how it continues and how the author keeps up the arc of suspense.

Febuary Haul

Cassandra Clare – City of Lost Souls

The demon Lilith has been destroyed and Jace freed. But when the Shadowhunters arrive, they find only blood and broken glass. Not only is the boy Clary loves missing, but so is the boy she hates: her brother Sebastian, who is determined to bring the Shadowhunters to their knees. The Clave cannot locate either boy, but Jace can’t stay away from Clary. When they meet again Clary discovers the horror of Lilith’s magic – Jace and Sebastian are now bound to each other, and Jace has become a servant to evil. The Clave is determined to destroy Sebastian, but it is impossible to harm one boy without destroying the other.

Only a few people believe Jace can still be saved. Together, Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle make hard choices that get them no closer to severing the tie between Jace and Sebastian. They turn at last to the merciless, weapon-making Iron Sisters. If the Iron Sisters can’t help, their only chance is to challenge Heaven and Hell – a risk that could claim their lives.

And they must do it without Clary. For Clary is playing a dangerous game utterly alone. The price for losing is not just her life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost? What price is too high to pay, even for love.

The fifth book in the Moral Instruments series was in a bargain bin and I couldn’t leave it there all on its own. I have read the first book, but I am still missing book 2 and 3. I think, I will start to marathon some series and for that I need to collect first. But I am interested to see how the series develops and if Clare can keep up the suspense over so many sequels.

Peter Pan

My last book this month was a children’s pop up book with sound effects. And I am in love. It is the story of Peter Pan and it is so beautiful and wonderful. I am all for children’s books, but I have never really looked at books for smaller children. Since so many of my friends are currently having children and desperately trying to regain control over their sleeping habits, I had a look around. And I came across this. And I had to have it.

CIMG4783 CIMG4671

Leave a Reply

