Alyson Noel – Fated

Fated

paperback
publisher: MacMillan
published 2012
pages: 448

Book on Amazon

Blurb:
Strange things have been happening to Daire Santos. Animals follow her, crows mock her,glowing people appear from nowhere. Worried that Daire’s having a breakdown, her mother sends her to stay with the grandmother she’s never met, who lives on the dusty plains of Enchantment, New Mexico. There Daire crosses oaths with Dace, a gorgeous guy with unearthly blue eyes.
Her grandmother recognizes Daire’s episodes for what they are – a call to her true destiny as Soul Seeker, a persn who can navigate between the living and the dead. Guided by her grandmother, Daire must be quick to learn how to harness her powers, because Dace’s brother is an evil shape-shifter, out to steal them.
Daire must embrace her fate as a Soul Seeker and discover whether Dace is the guy she’s meant to be with … or if he’s allied with the enemy she’s destined to destroy.

In (Very) Short:

+ young adult fantasy novel
+ Daire’s a soul seeker, who has to fight evil and save the world as we know it
+ I enjoyed the Native American spiritual aspects
– the story itself was slow at times
– typical YA: I’ve never met you before but I am in love after 5 seconds

My Opinion:

I am not necessarily sure why I picked this book up, but I did. It sounded good and I took it home from the library. The story itself was that of a typical young adult fantasy novel:

  • girl has supernatural powers and weird dreams
  • girl has to discover her true destiny
  • girl has weird sex dreams of boy
  • girl meets boy and is in love
  • girl has to save the world from being annihilated by evil (in form of boys twin brother)

The spiritual aspect was actually quite fascinating and intriguing. I enjoyed the fantasy world that was introduced although it lacked a little explanation, but I am sure that will come later. There are several worlds – the Upperworld, the Lowerworld and the Middleworld. The Middleworld is the one that we inhabit, but we are unable to truly see. Soul Seekers and Shamans, however, can. I like the idea of the spirit animal and as usual I liked the side kicks more than the main protagonists.
But since I have read quite a few Y/A fantasy books, I get a little annoyed with the whole „I never met you, but I am so in love with you“ vibe. Apart from that and the fact, that the narrative had some quite slow moments + a temporarily really annoying teenage protagonist, it was a solid read.

Bottom Line:

Good book for someone, who is not familiar with spiritual journeys and symbolism.

Rating:

rating 3

Leave a Reply

