March Book Haul

I did not plan to buy any. I never do. But they honestly just called my name. 🙂

march haul

Annelie Wendeberg – The Devil’s Grin

In Victorian London’s cesspool of crime and disease, a series of murder remains undiscovered until a cholera victim floating in the city’s drinking water supply. Dr. Anton Kronberg, England’s best bacteriologist, is called upon to investigate and finds evidence of abduction and medical maltreatment. While Scotland Yard has little interest in pursuing the case, Kronberg pushes on and crosses paths with Sherlock Holmes. The detective immediately discovers Kronberg’s secret – a woman masquerading as a man in order to practice medicine – a criminal deed that could land her in prison for years to come. But both must join forces to stop a crime so monstrous, it outshines Jack the Ripper’s deeds in brutality and cold-bloodedness.

I was at a reading of The Devil’s Grin and I really wanted to know how it continues. It’s a crime story and it is set in Sherlockian England, so I couldn’t resist and I have read it already.

Mary Janice Davidson – Sleeping with the Fishes

Fred is a mermaid. But stop right there. Whatever image you’re thinking of right now, forget it. Fred is not blonde. She’s not buxom. And she’s definitely not perky. In fact, Fred can be downright cranky. And it doesn’t help matters that her hair is ocean-colored.
Being a mermaid does help Fred when she works at the New England Aquarium.But, needless to say, it’s there that she gets involved in something fishy. Weird levels of toxins been found in the local water. A gorgeous marine biologist wants her help investigating. So does her mer-person ruler, the High Prince of the Black Sea. You’d think it would be easy for a mermaid to get to the bottom of things, Think again…

I stumbled over this book and I got it for a bargain. The cover caught my eye. I am not sure I actually like it, but I have never read anything about mermaids (except for The Little Mermaid and that was a long time ago). So, why not include another supernatural creature.

Walt Disney Comic Collection

This collection contains 10 Disney Comic Books. I don’t think this is essentially the correct term and genre, but since I don’t know any better, I am just gonna call it that. I have been eyeing it for a while and I finally couldn’t resist. I love them. They are so beautiful and precious and wonderful.

Agatha Christie – The Thirteen Problems

One Tuesday evening a group gathers at Miss Marple’s house and the conversation turns to unsolved crimes…
As each of her guests is mystified by the sinister tales they tell one another, the company is inclined to forget their elderly host. But there is a ruthless precision in Miss Marple’s pursuit of the killers in each tale…and a few surprises in store for ‘The Tuesday Night Club’.

Another Christie. What more can I say. I have to keep my Agatha Christie Reading Challenge in mind and so I really was „forced“ to buy one. 🙂

Alan Bradley – Speaking from Among the Bones

Eleven-year-old amateur detective and ardent chemist Flavia de Luce is used to digging up clues. What she is not accustomed to is digging up bodies. Upon the five-hundredth anniversary of Saint Tancred’s death, the English hamlet of Bishop’s Lacey is busily preparing to open its patron saint’s tomb. Nobody is more excited to peek inside the crypt than Flavia, yet what she finds will halt the proceedings dead in their tracks: the body of Mr. Collicutt, the church organist, his face inexplicably masked. Who held such a gruesome vendetta against him? The irrepressible Flavia decides to find out. And what she unearths will prove there’s no such thing as an open-and-shut case.

Flavia de Luce, my (currently) second favorite sleuth in the book world. This is the 5th book in the series. I doubt she has aged a day and the people in her village just die like flies. I am really looking forward to this. Bradley has never disappointed me so far.

Leave a Reply

