My Reading Month April

This is the first really disappointing reading month this year. It’s not even that I am in a reading slump, I just did not seem to have the time or the patience to sit down and read. The two books I managed to get through in April are the ones that I read before falling asleep. And apparently that was a lot faster than usual. But still, I hope it will pick up in May.

Anna Regeniter – Ein Jahr in London

This book is usually categorized as a travel report or travel literature. For me it is more the experience of someone who moved from Germany to London and illustrates the cultural differences in a funny and entertaining way. The way she describes her work life, her living arrangements and how London comes to a standstill when a snow flake hits the ground are so relatable. I agreed with a lot of those things and had to smile quite a bit. Really an enjoyable and funny read.

ein jahr in londonanimal farm

George Orwell – Animal Farm

Since I have challenged myself to read more classics and I have not done this so far, I pick up a small volume to get started. I really enjoyed this short novella. (I am not sure it is one, but it’s not really a book either.) I had to read 1984 in school and (as with every other book you had to read) I thought it was OK, but I wasn’t really interested. I really enjoyed Animal Farm. I liked the writing style and the fact that no matter the distance between the time a book was written in and the time you read it, the story is still valid and reflects on today’s society. A really good and thought-provoking read.

Sadly this was it. Maybe I’ll be better next month. Thanks for sticking with me.

Leave a Reply

