April/May Book Haul

I have been quite good with not buying to many books lately and in April I only got one (which was a present), so I did not see the point in making a haul. With May being over now there have at least been some more, so that I actually felt okay posting them. So here goes nothing.

Paul Stanford – Die wahre Geschichte der Päpstin Johanna

Wer war die Päpstin Johanna?
Die Figur der Päpstin Johanna gab lange Zeit zu immer neuen Legenden Anlass. Die katholische Kirche will bis heute nichts von einer Päpstin wissen, doch ihre Spuren sind an vielen Orten offenkundig. Peter Standford, ein renommierter britischer Journalist, hat sich in Rom, Siena und Fulda umgesehen und bringt Licht in das Dunkel einer abenteuerlichen Geschichte. (Blurb)

I have read the book Pope Joan by Donna Woolfalk Cross a long time ago. I think I was still in high school. (Back then I used to read historical novels and such, today I read young adult and children’s books – well, seems like I tend to do things backwards 🙂 ) Anyway, I or better my mother came across this book and it is a supposedly historical account of the legend of Pope Joan. The author researches the phenomenon and uncovers what is fact and what has become the legend.
It sounds interesting and its never bad to learn something.

Jasper Fforde – The Song of the Quarkbeast

I work in the magic industry. I think you’ll agree it’s pretty glamorous: a life full of spells, potions and whispered enchantments; of levitation, vanishing and alchemy. Of titanic fights to the death with the powers of darkness, of conjuring up blizzards and quelling storms at sea; of casting lighting bolts from mountains, and bringing statues to life in order to vanquish troublesome foes. (Blurb)
If Only.

The second installment in the dragon slayer trilogy is part of the first series for children that Jasper Fforde has written and it was The Last Dragonslayer (the first novel in this trilogy) was the first Fforde I have read so far. It was a good and solid read (as far as I remember since it’s been a while) and I got this second book for a bargain. The third book has been published already, so I don’t have to wait to continue if I want to.

april may haul

Margaret Lane – The Tale of Beatrix Potter

Another non-fiction book this month. I love the books and illustrations of Beatrix Potter. They are just adorable and wonderful, so when I saw this biography of her (and this is out of print – at least in this edition) I had to have it. I am reading the biography of Jane Austen at the moment and I really enjoyed it. So, I though why not read one of one of my favorite authors.

Sophie Barnes – How Miss Rutherford Got Her Groove Back

Emily Rutherford is having a very bad day.
Of course, having the man you’ve loved forever announce his engagement to your (now very former) best friend will do that.
Emily is sure nothing good could possibly come out of this horrid situation. But she lets her sisters – along with Francis Riley, the delectable but brooding Earl of Dunhurst – convince her that a season in London will be just the thing.
Now Emily has a choice:sulk in a corner while her sisters enjoy the glitter of the ton…become the belle of the ball, dazzling everyone on an earl’s arm. But as Francis helps Emily get back on her feet, she quickly realizes that a childhood crush compared to the power of true love. (Blurb)

While rummaging through eBay’s English book lists (I really shouldn’t because I find so much and it just adds to my every continuing TBR pile), I found this novel. It sounded like a light and fun read and I was in the mood for some historical romance and since I was reading about Austen and been watching the cinematic versions of her novels, I couldn’t resist. This story sounds like it would fit right in.

Leave a Reply

