Rick Riordan – The Red Pyramid

The Red Pyramid

paperback
publisher: Puffin Books
published 2011
pages: 514

Book on Amazon

Blurb:

„I Guess it started the night our dad blew up the British Museum…“
Carter and Sadie Kane’s dad is a brilliant Egyptologist with a secret plan that goes horribly wrong. An explosion shatters the ancient Rosetta Stone and unleashes Set, the evil god of chaos…
Set imprisons Dr Kane in a golden coffin, and Carter and Sadie are forced to run for their lives. To save their dad, they must embark on a terrifying quest from Cairo and Paris to the American South-west and discover the truth about their family’s connection to the House of Life: an Egyptian temple of magic that has existed for thousands of years.
The Pharaohs of Ancient Egypt are far from dead and buried. And so, unfortunately, are their gods…

In (Very) Short:

+ the start to a new children’s/young adult series
+ story centering around Egyptian Gods and Myths
+ chapters are told from either of the siblings point of view – changing “narrator”
– I did not get along with the main characters (Sadie and Carter)
– difficult to differentiate between the two voices

My Opinion:

I really, really loved Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan and I was nervous to start anything new by the same author. Though I have heard good things about the series, I knew my expectations were very high and I could be easily disappointed. A plus: I love Egyptian mythology when I was in school and it is surprising how much I remembered.

Sadie and Carter Kane watch their father blow up the Rosetta Stone and by doing that releasing Ancient Egyptian Gods. After he disappears and is supposedly held prisoner, his children try to save him and the world in the process. But not only do they have to fight some Egyptian Gods and stop them from destroying the world, they also have to be aware of the House of Life – a magician organization destined to fight the Gods and anyone with royal blood. So they should help Sadie and Carter right? So, you think…

The book is an entertaining read. The chapters are told from either Sadie’s or Carter’s point of view (which alternates). However, I had difficulties differentiating between the voices at times so I had to look at the top of the page to remind myself who was narrating at the time.

The mythology is incorporated into the story, as it has been in Percy Jackson, and creates a wonderful story. The narrative is fast paced and the writing is fluent. The incorporation and the world creation of the secret Egyptian world (unknown to us mere mortals) is one of Riordan’s great talents.

But I could hardly warm up to the main characters while I was reading. Although I got used to them in the end and I might even be a little fond of them, they were just too annoying at times. The bickering, the attempt of being funny and sarcastic (which failed in my opinion) – they were just plain unsympathetic in my eyes. While reading, however, I started to see where Riordan was going with this and why they are the way they are. Percy, I understood. Sadie and Carter, not so much.

Bottom Line:

A fun and entertaining read where the reader can learn about Egyptian mythology. A good book, but not one of his best works.

Rating:

rating 3

2 thoughts on “Rick Riordan – The Red Pyramid

  1. Pingback: My Top 5 Owned Authors | Franzi's Book Chase

  2. Pingback: My Top 5 Most Read Authors | Franzi's Book Chase

Leave a Reply

