My Reading Month June

It was good!!! 🙂

Trudi Canavan – The Rogue

I started my month of with a little fantasy. This is the second book in the Traitor Spy Trilogy which centers around Sonea who I (and maybe some of you) have met in the Black Magicians Trilogy. I do think that you could read this trilogy without reading the Black Magicians Trilogy first, but maybe it would be better if you started with The Magicians Guild.
But back to the book. I enjoyed this book. It was a while ago that I read the first one in this trilogy, but I got back into the swing of things real fast. The narration itself might have been slower than what I was used too and there were many parallel stories, but I was in the mood for something more complex and little slow. All in all, a good read.

The Rogue Real Murders

Charlaine Harris – Real Murders

Because I was away and did not have the next book in the Traitor Spy Trilogy with me, I started this book. This is the first book in the Aurora Teagarden mystery series about a librarian who is interested in murder and gets caught up in one right away. It was a good, fast and fun read. Less of a mystery than I would have wanted it to be. Aurora did not necessarily investigate in any way, but was more caught in between in all. She was more of a witness. Still good.

Alexandra Pilz – Zurück Nach HollyHill

During the hot days in June I wanted something light, where I did not have to pay too much attention. The book is written by a German author and is not yet translated into English.
Emily receives a letter from her dead mother when she graduates college. She tells her to visit her old home Holly Hill to find out about her past. But the town does not exist. It is not on any map that Emily and her friend look at. Still Emily goes out to find Holly Hill. This was a nice and easy read, light entertainment with lots of weird stuff and little love stuff. Great for hot summer days.

Holly Hill Traitor Queen

Trudi Canavan – The Traitor Queen

Then I finally started the final installment in the Traitor Spy Trilogy. It was a good and solid read. I was entertained, I anticipated and expected the outcome, and there are still some things unsolved that leaves the possibility for the author to return to this world.
This series and this book is not as good as Canavan’s first series. It sometimes even read as if this is not necessarily the finale of the trilogy but more of a middle book. There is a lot to say about this book that would spoil the series, so I leave that for the in-depth review.

Kristen John – Rapunzel, der schüchterne Wolf und die Sache mit dem magischen Zopf

This is the 4th installment of the Mia fairy tales series which is not translated into English. This time Mia and her frog Jakob are drawn into the fairy tale of Rapunzel. Once they arrive, mayhem and fun ensues. This is again a fun and entertaining read. I really recommend this for young readers.

Rapunzel Gold Leather Trousers

Fiona Foden – Life, Death and Gold Leather Trousers

I picked this book up because of the title. This is a middle grade book that I found in our library. I was a little skeptical at first since I am often annoyed with young characters. They often tend to make decisions that I don’t understand. But then again I am old. I loved the story, I could identify with the character and I understood why she acted the way she did. The author was able to draw me into the story, so that even I was as annoyed with Clover’s parents as she was. It was a real good and entertaining read.

Jessica Fletcher & Donald Bain – Murder She Wrote: Murder on the QE2

So after all this magic and those children’s books, I was in the mood for a little murder. Since I didn’t have an Agatha Christie at hand, I took the next best thing: A Murder She Wrote novel. I really enjoy the series and I can watch them over and over again (with a certain amount of time in between so I would forget who the murderer is). This was a good and solid read. I was entertained, the story was interesting, the final culprit maybe a little far-fetched for my taste, and Jessica less involved then I thought. All in all, a good read.

Murder on the QE2 Rätsel des Dornenbaums

Marliese Arold: Magic Girls 3 – Das Rätsel des Dornenbaums

This series about witches, who are exiled to the human world, is really cute and entertaining. This is the third installment in the series and for the first time it got quite exiting and thrilling. Elena’s father is a secret agent wizard and needs help in one of his missions, so his daughter and her best friend Miranda turn up to help. I enjoy that the girls are still girls and occasionally scared and not unreasonable heroic, at the same time they are a little annoying as well. But hey, I am old now, maybe that’s why I feel this way. A really thrilling ride.

Leave a Reply

