Jessica Fletcher & Donald Bain – Murder She Wrote: Murder on the QE2

Murder on the QE2

paperback
publisher: Signet
published 1997
pages 304

Book (English)

Blurb:

Bestselling mystery writer and amateur sleuth Jessica Fletcher is invited to travel to London on the grand dame of ocean liners, the Queen Elizabeth II, as one of seven guest lecturers. The night they set sail, a fellow speaker is found brutally murdered. Now Jessica has just four days at sea to find the killer…before she finds more of her colleagues, or even herself, dead in the water! (Amazon)

In (Very) Short:

+ Novels based on the crime series Murder She Wrote
+ fun and entertaining read
+ whodunit crime story
– the solution might have been a little far-fetched, but that’s okay

My Opinion:

When I don’t have an Agatha Christie at hand I just turn to Murder She Wrote. Since I have watched all the seasons that I currently own on DVD several times, I decided to start another Murder She Wrote novel. This is my second MSW novel so far and I have to say that I enjoyed it.

Jessica Fletcher is on the QE 2 crossing the Atlantic and of course a murder happens. Why anyone would ever invite Jessica Fletcher at all still amazes me. I mean theoretically speaking everybody must know that people die around her and you should probably just run for the hills, but anyway. I am rambling. (Although a friend of mine and I agree, we would just run, when she was near 🙂 )

So, of course Jessica being the observant sleuth that she is, starts to look a little closer. This time she has a new sidekick – a lady she met on the trip who is as observant as she is. Towards the end both know who the murderer is and when the police arrives at the scene (I mean on the boat), the true killer is revealed.

The book contains what you need, Jessica Fletcher, an annoying and incapable security chief, and a group of suspects with a lot of motive. Although the murderer was a little far-fetched for my taste it did confirm the traditional whodunit requirement: the person you least suspect.

The book was entertaining, the story interesting, the writing fast paced and on track, and there was Jessica. I can’t help it but I love her as much as Miss Marple.

Bottom Line:

A fun and entertaining read. No Marple, but exiting nonetheless.

Rating:

rating 3

Leave a Reply

