My Reading Months July and August

I haven’t had the greatest of reading months lately, so I decided to sum up both July and August in one post. I am not in a reading slump, but I just don’t seem to have the time or the patience to read. If I manage ten pages before I sleep it is quite an achievement.

Elsemarie Maletzke – Jane Austen: Eine Biografie

This biography of Jane Austen was something that I have been reading over a longer period of time. I like her books and I have seen most of the film and TV adaptations, so I thought it might be right to read something about her life. It was interesting and the author had a way of intertwining Austen’s life and experiences with the content and development of her novels. All in all, a good and interesting read.

jane austen bio

John Green – The Fault in Our Stars

I have refused to read this book for some time now. Firstly, because I wasn’t into the whole cancer book thing lately and secondly, because I try to avoid hypes a little bit. Often I am just disappointed. And honestly, I don’t get the hype around this novel. I am sorry and people will probably be really mad. It was a good book, it was a fast and easy read, but … I don’t know: it was predictable and worst something just irked me – I can’t quite put a finger on it. As I said it was a good book but something about this book made me uncomfortable.

Rick Riordan – The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chronicles #2)

The second book in the Kane Chronicles was a good and solid read. I really enjoyed the Egyptian mythology (and honestly that would save almost any book for me) and the story was fast paced and another thrilling ride, yet I still have problems with the protagonists. Though I understand them a little more this time, both are still annoying and it is actually someone else who saves the day every time they are in trouble. The siblings created a problem that someone else has to solve. I really don’t get why they are always portrayed as the heroes. Anyway. The world creation is fantastic and although the story follows the same repetitive narrative pattern, I thinks it’s still a good adventure story if you don’t want to think too much, but rather want something to wash over you.

verbotene eden 2 Throne of Fire

Thomas Thiemeyer – Logan und Gwen: Das Verbotene Eden #2

This is the second installment in a dystopian series written by the German author Thomas Thiemeyer which has not been translated yet. In the world where men and women hate each other and are at the brink of war, Logan and Gwen cross paths, well, Logan captures Gwen and intents to sell her on the slave market. But of course things change.
I have listened to the first installment as an audio book and I really enjoyed it. The premise was interesting: due to a virus men and women started to hate and kill each other and separated into different lives. While always at the brink of war, those tendencies have grown more certain after the first book. Altogether this was a good 2nd installment; it was easy to read, fast-paced and fluent. However, I would have loved to learn more about the world that Thiemeyer had created, which he failed to provide. And although both characters are independent characters and no shallow copies of the two main protagonists in the first novel, I couldn’t quite grasp them.

Octavia E. Butler – Fledgling

Since a friend of mine has just handed in his dissertation on Octavia Butler’s work and I have read already two of her books, I decided to try to read all the novels that he analyzes in his work. Since I had Fledgling at home, I started with the Vampire book. Yes, this book is about Vampires. And it is actually good. It has an interesting take on the Vampire myth and Butler developed a fascinating world. Though there are some things that I found a little difficult to swallow (and I shouldn’t because I watch and read Game of Thrones – and after that not a lot of things should shock me anymore), it was a good book and enjoyed it. Some characters were a little annoying especially Wright, but that’s probably just me.

feldgling Derek Landy 1

Derek Landy – Skulduggery Pleasant

So after a little more adult read, I decided to grab a children’s novel about a dead guy and magic. That’s sounds great, doesn’t it? Well, at least to me. And it was a great book. The world creation was fantastic, the characters likeable, the story thrilling, and the writing was fluent. Skulduggery Pleasant is a skeleton magician and helps Stephanie solve the death of her beloved uncle. Suddenly she is in the middle of a world that she did not even know existed. I really recommend this.

Leave a Reply

