John Green – The Fault in Our Stars

fault in our stars

© amazon.de

paperback
publisher: Penguin
published 2013
pages 336

Book (English)

Blurb:

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once.”Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. (Amazon)

In (Very) Short:

+ fluent and beautiful writing
+ good and fast read
+ emotionally charged novel

My Opinion:

This will be the hardest book to review in a while. It was as hard as reviewing Jesse Andrews book Me, Earl and the Dying Girl which I haven’t published yet, because I am not happy with it. So here goes nothing.

I don’t think I have to summarize anything anymore because many have read the book already or seen the movie by now. I was reluctant to read the book since I am always late to a hype (mere principle really 😉 ). I enjoyed the book. It was a good and easy read. I read through it in no time at all and as I said it was good.

However, (and here is probably where the haters start to hate), I don’t get why people are crying and freaking out about this book. Yes, the writing was good, but so is the writing of other authors and honestly the story was predictable. And though predictability is something that I can live with, there was something about that book that just made me uneasy. I can’t really put my finger on it.

The characters were likeable, the writing was fluent and beautiful, yet something bothered me. I still don’t believe that when diagnosed with a terminal illness everybody turns into a Hazel or Augustus and faces their future with sarcasm, irony, and little smart ass witty behavior all the time. Before people scream that I have no idea what I am talking about and that I don’t know what it’s like. It’s true, but I have seen enough people living with terminal illnesses and dying of it, and the book is just not that for me. Maybe this is what made me uncomfortable: the fact that I have seen things that I wish I hadn’t and that I wasn’t prepared to handle. Maybe I am emotionally too close and too narrow-minded to accept Hazel’s and Augustus’ way at this point in time. Maybe at another point in my life I would have cried as well.

Bottom Line:

A good and emotional read, beautifully written and fast to read.

Rating:

rating 3

Leave a Reply

