September Book Haul

So, although I tried not to buy any books the last month, again it did not work and since I am not reading a lot lately, my TBR pile is constantly increasing. Anyway. Here is my little splurge of the month.

Robin Wasserman – Skinned

A year ago Lia Kahn died. A few days later she woke up … with a new mechanical body, unfeeling and inhuman. She has a new family, ‘mechs’ like her, who didn’t judge her for what she could no longer be, and a new life, one that would last forever. At least it was supposed to…
But now everything Lia thought she knew has turned out to be a lie, and everyone she loved and cared about has been stolen away. Someone is trying to get rid of the mechs, once and for all, and Lia must risk everything to save herself and the people she can’t live without. But not before she faces one final, shocking truth … a truth that forces her to make a decision she can never reverse.

I stumbled across this book in the library. Well, the German translation of the book and when I found the English original on eBay I had to have it. It sound intriguing and a little Sci Fi and since I am in the mood for Sci Fi lately, I had to have it.

Robin Wasserman – Wired

This is the third and final installment of the Skinned trilogy (which has now been renamed and republished – though the old covers are so much prettier). Well, I got the first one and they offered the third, so I picked it up assuming that I would like the first part. No, blurb because I don’t want to spoil and be spoiled. (I didn’t read it myself either).

September Haul

Anna Carey – Eve

“Where will I go?” I asked, my voice trembling. The forest spilled out before me, its hillsides lit only by the perfect, glowing moon. This was it. Where I came from, where I was going. My past, my future.
“If you continue straight two miles you’ll come to a road.” Her thin lips moved slowly as she spoke. “Find the signs marked eighty and go west, toward the setting sun. Stay near the road but not on it.”
I wanted to as Teacher more, but just then the beam of the guard’s flashlight rounded the corner of the dormitory building. Teacher Florence pushed me forward. “Go, now!” she urged. “Go!”
And as fast as the door opened, it closed behind me, leaving me alone in the cold, starless night.

Another dystopian creepy something. A virus has wiped out most of earth’s population. Orphaned girls are trained at a school for this new world, but the day before graduation Eve discovers the real purpose of the school and the horrific fate that awaits them. So, she runs away.
Why not. It sounds interesting and it was a bargain, so I just decided to get this one.

Agatha Christie – Hallowe’en Party

At a Hallowe’en party, Joyce – a hostile thirteen-year-old – boasts that she once witnessed a murder. When no one believes her, she storms of home. But within hours her body is found,still in the house drowned in an apple-bobbing tub.
That night, Hercule Poirot is called in to find the ‘evil presence’. But first he must establish whether he is looking for a murderer or double-murderer …

What can I say. I finished my last Christie and I just need to have one at hand really. So, I decided to go with the spooky theme of fall and Halloween and got me a Poirot mystery. I will see if this one is as good as the last one, because Nemesis was just bloody brilliant.

Leave a Reply

