Ryan Attard – The Pandora Chronicles (#1)

ThePandoraChronicles-4

e-book
publisher: AEC Stellar Publishing, Inc.
Published 2014
pages in print: 208

Book (English)

Blurb:

A nomadic alien species found itself trapped on a new-born Earth billions of years ago. And they were here just long enough to leave a legacy behind – buried in our DNA.

1713 – Captain Jack Finnegan’s remarkable success as a pirate and privateer turns out to be something much deeper. He’ll need all of his wits, and a bit more, to survive his quest for the powerful relic left behind by the gods.

2012 – The famous archaeologist Nick Solomon never could pass up a good adventure, especially not the search for a mysterious artifact. He’d just prefer not being stuck between a crime lord, a secret government agency, and the past he’s tried so hard to forget. (Amazon)

In (Very) Short:

+ adventure/conspiracy story with pirates and aliens
+ fast paced, enjoyable, solid read
+ first installment of a series

My Opinion:

The Pandora Chronicles is the first book I was asked to review and I was thrilled. So first of all thank you to Ryan Attard and Shannon A. Thompson for thinking of me and providing me with review copy. This time I feel really nervous about writing a review, but I’m gonna stick to what I usually do: I tell you what I think – organized or unorganized as those thoughts may be.

This is the first science fiction book that I have read in a long time and it is more than just Sci Fi. The story follows two characters: the pirate Captain Jack Finnegan (yeah for pirates) and the archaeologist Nick Solomon (yeah for the history nerd) both searching for relics, artifacts and secret places. Add some aliens to the mix and you have a book that is Sci Fi novel, adventure story, conspiracy narrative and lots of agencies and secret societies blowing things up and shooting.

The book was an enjoyable, good, and solid read. It was less of a Sci Fi novel than I have anticipated, but more of an adventure, thriller, conspiracy plot with a little alien technology (and Them) thrown in. I enjoyed the main characters – I do like pirates and history nerds who desperately try to be the next Indiana Jones – I enjoyed the writing, I enjoyed the story.

Despite all the stuff I liked, I also have a few issues with this book. The story was fairly predictable (given that most of it was already in the story summary) and I did not necessarily knew what I was reading for – it lacked some mystery for me personally. I knew what was gonna happen and those twists and turns that I did not know, I figured out pretty soon. I think since this book is the first in a series, the world has to be set up and that is always quite difficult within the limited narrative frame of one novel, so it sometimes lacked some mystery.

The chapters (and I do love many short chapters because I have the chance to finish one and not stop in the middle) were a little rushed and honestly this time (surprise) too short. Within the chapters there were so many short passages one after another that I sometimes wished they would have been longer and more detailed to give the characters a little more space for development. Although again I understand the lack of that because it would have slowed down the narrative pace and this is more of an adventure story. Still sometimes it felt rather rushed than fast paced.

Still, I especially liked the hint at a little more Sci Fi in the epilogue and with a little less predictability (don’t reveal everything in the book’s summary) and a little more unsolved mystery, the next installment could be my Sci Fi dream.

Bottom Line:

All together an enjoyable and solid read. If you like adventures, conspiracies, pirates, history nerds and a little extra terrestrial something thrown in the mix… here you go.

Rating:

rating 3

(more 3 1/2 quills really)

2 thoughts on “Ryan Attard – The Pandora Chronicles (#1)

Leave a Reply

