My Reading Month November

This month was a good reading month for me. I have to admit that I cheated a little bit and read quite a few children’s books and novellas to maybe meet my goal at the end of the year, but it was all quite enjoyable.

Hiawyn Oram – Rumblewicks Tagebuch: Hilfe meine Hexe lernt Ballett

This is another book in the Rumblewick series narrated by a cat. His witch wants to be more human than a witch. This gets both into a lot of trouble because it is forbidden. So, this time Haggy Aggy decides to learn ballet. A cute and fun read just like the other ones.

Patrick McDonnell – Das Monster aller Monster

I only managed this number of books this month because I read a lot of children’s fiction. It calms me down and helps me unwind. This book is so lovely and funny. Three little monster argue who is the most dangerous and monstrous and because they don’t agree they build a big and scary monster, who does not turn out the way they wanted. The illustrations are wonderful. This was great.

Julie Anne Grasso – Frankie Dupont and the Mystery of Enderby Manor

Another entertaining read this month was this e-book I found. Frankie’s cousin is missing and so he helps investigate. Frankie really wants to be a detective like his father so he uses what he has learned in his first case. It is a fun and entertaining story with a supernatural twist.

Andreas H. Schmachtl – Tilda Apfelkern: Wunderbare Geschichten aus dem Heckenrosenweg

Tilda is a little church mouse who lives in a small town surrounded by her friends the hedgehog Rupert, the mouse Molly, the squirrel Edna with her two sons Benny and Billy and Robin the robin (and many more). This book accompanies the friends through the year which is told in short stories (great for reading to your kid) and is beautifully illustrated.

Tilda Apfelkern - Wunderbare Geschichten vom HeckenrosenwegHilfe meine Hexe lernt Ballett2 Monster aller Monster2

Ann Hunter – The Subtle Beauty

This is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Princess Glory is vain and is promised to prince Eoghan of the Blood Realm, who is said to be cursed and deformed. Glory is angry and tries to escape her marriage by fleeing with the young falconer but is tricked and brought to Blackthorn Keep (the home of the prince) instead. There she is confronted with a gryphon, a ghost, and a secret plan to usurp the prince. Those who know Beauty and the Beast know how it will end. It was a good and really fast read.

Katie McGarry – Red at Night

I have stumbled across that name several times and since I did not have that much energy to spend on long books, I turned to some novellas. I needed a shorter story with a fast and hopefully satisfactory solution at the end. It was a good read and I like it, but I am just not that into contemporary stuff I suppose. I don’t mind a quick and sudden love story in fantasy novels because I usually pay more attention to world building, but here I was confronted with that. It was good and nice. A little didactic and a little unrealistic, but surely entertaining.

Ally Carter – Double Crossed: A Spies and Thieves Story

I really, really enjoyed this story. Again a short novella instead of a long novel. And although the characters and their world have already been established in two other series by the author, it was no problem to follow this story. I probably did not get all references but I never felt like I missed something. Altogether this was a great and fun read and made me want to have a look at the two other series Ally Carter wrote since the characters of both story worlds meet in this novella. Fun.

Christopher Butler – Postmodernism: A Short Introduction

I had to cheat a little more this month to maybe meet my goal at the end of the year and added a theory book that I had to read again for my dissertation. Postmodern theory – not necessarily my favorite topic, but I still really recommend this book to anyone who needs or wants an introduction into postmodernism. It will give you a good start and you will actually understand developments and theories easier after reading this.

Leave a Reply

