Nancy Butler – Pride and Prejudice (Graphic Novel)

Pride and Prejudice

Graphic Novel
publisher: Marvel
published 2010
pages: 120

Book (English)

Blurb:
Tailored from the adored Jane Austen classic, Marvel Comics is proud to present PRIDE AND PREJUDICE! Two-time Rita-Award-Winner Nancy Butler and fan-favorite Hugo Petrus faithfully adapt the whimsical tale of Lizzy Bennett and her loveable-if-eccentric family, as they navigate through tricky British social circles. Will Lizzy’s father manage marry of his five daughters, despite his wife’s incessant nagging? And will Lizzy’s beautiful sister Jane marry the handsome, wealthy Mr. Bingley, or will brooding friend Mr. Darcy stand between their happiness? (Amazon)

In (Very) Short:

+ graphic novel of Pride and Prejudice
+ lifted right of the original novel
+ good art work
+ enjoyable read

My Opinion:

This was my first graphic novel and this will be my first review of one and I honestly don’t know where to start or how to do it. Anyway here goes nothing…

I have read Pride and Prejudice, I have seen the movies and BBC adaptations, shortly: I know the story. I cannot say anything about this graphic novel concerning the story, because it was pretty much lifted from the book: same dialogue, same scenes. All was good.

I enjoyed reading a graphic novel. It was fun and interesting. I liked the art work. It wasn’t really breath-taking, but then again who am I to judge. I have no artistic bone in my body.

The idea of turning a classic into a graphic novel is great and it just might get some people to read this version who just don’t want to spend all the time reading the original text. However, I will have to read other graphic novel adaptation of a book that I have not read before in order to get a feeling for the genre.

Bottom Line:

I really enjoyed the graphic novel as it was mostly lifted of the original. The art work was good and the read was fast.

Rating:

rating 4

2 thoughts on “Nancy Butler – Pride and Prejudice (Graphic Novel)

  1. How interesting! I had no idea classics were published as graphic novels. I’ve no knowledge of graphic novels but I think it’s something I’ll look out for now. Thanks! 🙂

    • Oh, that makes me happy 🙂 I wasn’t aware of them either. I just stumbled across this by accident and I really think its a good way to make classics more interesting to a new group of readers. I will definitely check out more. And Pride and Prejudice was a really good way to start.

Leave a Reply

