My Reading Month March

My reading months seem to get a little better lately and the number of read books slowly increase. Very slowly. I read four books this month and listened to 5 audiobooks. ( I continue to include them because including them makes the monthly review look a little better.)

Beth Revis – Across the Universe

I finally read a little YA science fiction. I was a little reluctant because I didn’t want to start another series and YA Sci-Fi was just … I don’t know … I wasn’t sure this was something for me. It was a good read and I enjoyed the book. The storytelling was good, the characters interesting yet sometimes a little flat. Yet it took me quite some time to find my way into the story world and into the story. I was able to understand the characters and empathize, but sometimes I just couldn’t. It was a bit of a bumpy read for me.

across the universe Oona Crate 2

Shawn T. Odyssey – Oona Crate und das dunkle Geheimnis des Orakels/ The Magician’s Tower

The second book in this series was as entertaining as the first. It took me a short moment to get back into the world, but once I was in, I was in. The story was adventurous, mysterious and thoroughly enjoyable. The characters were still as likeable as in the previous book and the narrative pace was great because I just wanted to know who would win and what those mysteries were all about.

Terry Deary – Abgefahrene Ägypter/ Awesome Egyptians

This is the German version of the Horrible Histories series this time about Ancient Egypt. I really love this series because it is a great and fun introduction into history for the younger (not the very young) reader because it is not text-book like, but told through comics and stories and it is a little lighter. I really enjoyed it.

Abgefahrene ÄgypterGoldene Salamander

Renée Holler – Das Geheimnis des goldenen Salamander (The City of Lost Children)

A historical children’s novel set in 17th century England written by a German author. Alyss’ father disappeared and her uncle wants to get rid of her to get the inheritance and there the adventure starts. This is a really lovely and entertaining read. The characters are likeable, the story quite well paced, the author was able to capture the protagonists spirit and lets them occasionally be children – they do believe in magic, magicians and children being transformed into rats by the magician – without letting them be stronger or more grown up than the grown ups. Yet they are not weak either. I really liked that.

My audiobook month was a little better than my actual book month, but just because some of those were quite short.

Nicholas Sparks – Mein Weg zu dir/ The Best of Me

This was my first Sparks. I have not seen a movie nor read a book. It was an interesting audiobook and I liked listening to it. Mainly due to the narrator because the voice was just incredibly soothing and comforting. The story was nice to, but I am not into those types of stories at least not now. But still good.

Ralf Schmitz – Schmitz’ Häuschen

This German comedian has written several books about his experiences and I have listened to all of them. This time around he tells the story or stories connected to the construction of his house and the weird, idiotic, and funny situations that he encountered. It was very funny.

Gayle Tufts – Miss America

Gayle Tufts is an American who moved to Germany many, many years ago and writes about her experiences, surprises, and cultural misconceptions. It is interesting and funny. I have not perceived me and “my people” as weird but seeing it through someone else’s eyes, we really are weird people. 🙂

Alan Bradley – Falvia de Luce: Mord im Gurkenbeet/ The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

I really love Alan Bradley and I have read this book some time ago. In addition to the book just being great, the person narrating it, is one of my favorite audiobook narrators. This crime story’s detective is the 13 year Flavia de Luce, who loves chemistry and uses it to satisfy her curiosity and solve the case. Loveable and quirky. Just the right mix for me.

Heidi Rehn – Gold und Stein

The historical novel tells the story of twins, who have been separated at birth, and the circumstances of and reasons for their separation. It was a good story, yet it lacked a little narrative pace for me and did not really draw me in that much. Still good, but listened to better.

Leave a Reply

