Jennifer Estep – Touch of Frost (Mythos Academy #1)

Touch of Frost

e-book
published: 2011
publisher: Kensington
pages: 385

Blurb:

My name is Gwen Frost, and I go to Mythos Academy — a school of myths, magic and warrior whiz kids, where even the lowliest geek knows how to chop off somebody’s head with a sword and Logan Quinn, the hottest Spartan guy in school, also happens to be the deadliest.

But lately, things have been weird, even for Mythos. First, mean girl Jasmine Ashton was murdered in the Library of Antiquities. Then, someone stole the Bowl of Tears, a magical artifact that can be used to bring about the second Chaos War. You know, death, destruction and lots of other bad, bad things. Freaky stuff like this goes on all the time at Mythos, but I’m determined to find out who killed Jasmine and why – especially since I should have been the one who died . . . (Amazon)

In (Very) Short:

+ fantasy boarding school novel with vikings, amazons, magic and something evil
+ a likeable main protagonist Gwen Frost
+ fluent and captivating story
+ great premise, fun, and entertaining novel

My Opinion:

I somehow thought that I have long passed the age in which I will be captivated by boarding school stories. But I have heard so many good things about this novel that I had to have a look or better a read. And yes, I was wrong. I did really enjoy this novel. So much for being too old…but then again I do read lots of children’s books as well and I not a child anymore…technically 😉

Back to the book: Gwen has a gift. She touches an object, a person, something really and every emotion, every piece of history flashes before her eyes. She knows everything about whom or whatever she touches. So, she finally has to go to Mythos Academy where many magic and warrior descendants train. Not only is she the weird loner because she does not fit in, but there is also something evil lurking and she seems to be the only person to care.

I thoroughly enjoyed the premise of the series. Descendants of mythical beings or people with their own magic individual to each group and person, all striving to save the world, yet still in school. There is a similar segmentation of the pupils into groups as in every other school and since Gwen is the only one of her kind, she doesn’t fit in, and she is not sure whether she really wants to or not.

I liked Gwen, she is witty, funny, nerdy and sometimes insecure, befuddled, and annoyed. The whole mix was well-blended and made her a round and approachable character. It was interesting to learn about the academy from her sometimes clumsy perspective – I get it, the floor hates me too and I do think it is an unrecognized art form to fall on an even surface 😉

The writing was fluent and washed right over me and the story developed at an evenly pace. Since the story world was new to me, it did not feel dragged or slow. Yet the author’s writing style is not necessarily the quickest – if that makes any sense.

I enjoyed the relationships that started to develop and while this story line is closed, there are enough unanswered questions that will get me to read the next one rather sooner than later.

Bottom Line:

An entertaining and fun novel centering around a mythical boarding school, amazons, vikings, magic, and evil things with a likeable main protagonist. A good start to a series.

Rating:

rating 4

2 thoughts on “Jennifer Estep – Touch of Frost (Mythos Academy #1)

Leave a Reply

