Veronica Roth – Divergent (#1)

© Katherine Tegen Books

Audiobook
Informations on the physical book:
publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
published: 2014
pages: 576

Blurb:

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.
During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . .or it might destroy her. (Amazon)

In (Very) Short:

+ first book in a trilogy
+ fun, entertaining, exiting YA fantasy
+ well-developed characters, great premise

My Opinion:

I was reluctant to start this trilogy, and I am generally late to hypes because I a) try to avoid them or b) I really don’t notice – I see those books around but somehow they don’t stick with me (brain does not work). Anyhow, I was lucky enough to find the unabridged audiobook in my local library in English and I was ecstatic. I really, really enjoyed the book.

Tris lives in a world made up of factions – each faction living up to only one ideal. As a young person she is about to choose which faction she wants to belong to for the rest of her life and a test is supposed to help her determine. But during that test, it is revealed that she is different from the others and that this difference can cost her her life. In order to avoid discovery, Tris has to hide in a faction and try to blend in.

I liked Tris. The author was able to make me understand her and relate to her. Though I sometimes did not agree with the choices she made or the thoughts she had, I was never alienated. I comprehended. I liked that Tris had to fight, that things did not come natural to her and that she did get beat a few times. But she always got back up and she always remembered (though she might not have acted accordingly) where she came from. Both Tris and Tobias (as well as other characters) were very well-developed and complex without being complicated and hard to follow.

The arc of suspense was continuous but left enough room to breath and time to look at Tris’ character and her world more closely. The love story (the thing that annoys me so many times in YA fiction) was a slow burner, understandable, and enjoyable. I thought it was cute at times, yet not so much on the nose.

The minor characters were likeable and the antagonists easy to loathe. I liked the several sides to Tobias and the fact that he was not perfect and strong. There was always some form of mutual respect and both had times where they saved the other without putting them in the position of damsel in distress.

The writing was fluent, I really want to know about the world and how this whole story continuous.

Bottom Line:

A great audiobook, a wonderful and fascinating story with well-developed and complex characters.

Leave a Reply

