Josephine Angelini – Goddess

Goddess

paperback
publisher: Macmillan Children’s Book
published 2013
pages: 444

Blurb:

She must rise, or they will fall …Helen’s powers are increasing-and so is the distance between her and her mortal friends. To make matters worse, the Oracle reveals that a dangerous traitor is lurking among them, and all fingers point to Orion. Still unsure whether she loves him or Lucas, Helen is forced to make a terrifying decision, or risk all-out war. The final book in this heart-stopping trilogy. (Amazon)

In (Very) Short:

+ the final installment in the trilogy
+ Greek gods, scions, Trojan War – all the good stuff
+ fast-paced, thrilling, enjoyable

My Opinion:

I thoroughly enjoyed the final installment of this trilogy. I couldn’t put it down. If you haven’t read the first books you might not want to continue.

After the last battle with a Myrmidon and the release of the furies, the scions could finally remain in each others company no matter the house they belong to. However, they also freed the gods from their prison who start to roam the world and terrorize the humans. Thus, the final confrontation between gods and scions is inevitable and history seems to repeat itself – remember Troy?!

The story was fast-paced and complex. Since I have read the previous books some time ago (I think it might have been a year or so), I needed some time to get into it and I have to admit that I forgot some things. Therefore, I was so captivated solely by trying to put everyone into context. Just to figure out which person was the reincarnation of what character in Troy and other legends or historical events was thrilling to me.

I could even live with the love relationship problem. I read quite often that the series is somewhat reminiscent of Twilight and though the relationship between the two main protagonists was occasionally challenging, it was always explained due to destiny and since gods were in the mix, it did not bother me.

I enjoyed the interlude with the Trojan War, King Arthur‘s legend and the conversations and histories of the houses. The characters were likeable and I did not necessarily know which side I was one. I could relate to most of them. The writing was fluent and captivating, it read easy, fast and I barely put the book down.

Bottom Line:

I fast-paced, thrilling conclusion to the series. I really enjoyed this trilogy.

Rating:

rating 5

Leave a Reply

