My Reading Month November

Things have been a little quiet lately and I apologize. As usual life happens and time flies. My last reading month in itself was very bad. I managed to read just two books. But I listened to 7 audiobooks. I really hope that I get to read some more books in December but I have the feeling that this might not happen either. Anyway.
Well, let’s get started.

  • Books: 2
  • Audiobook: 7
  • Pages (only books): 768
  • Pages (incl. Audiobooks): 3856
  • Minutes listened: 2452 min. (over 40 hours)

Books:

Claudia Gray – A Thousand Pieces of You

This was my first book in November and it was a good one. This science fiction young adult novel was a solid read about traveling between dimensions, conspiracies, and parallel universes. Though it was a bit obvious who the bad guy was in this scenario and how the story between the three main characters was going to develop, the book embarked on an interesting journey and created fascination and differing realities.

Ursula Neeb – Die Hurenkönigin

This historical crime novel follows the Housekeeper of a brothel who uncovers the truth about the culprit behind gruesome murders of local prostitutes. It was an enjoyable read with a great crime element, an interesting main character, and a city’s attitude towards the oldest profession in the world.

A Thousand Pieces of You Die Hurenkönigin

Audiobooks:

The majority of my audiobooks have been written by German authors per usual but there are two novels originally written in English.

Rita Falk – Zwetschgendatschikompott

The latest installment about a Bavarian police officer and his family, who stumbles across yet another murder and solves said murder in his unique way (often with a lot more luck than any ability at all). A fun audiobook as usual.

Dora Heldt – Wind aus West mit starken Böen

This book deals with a difficult relationship between two sisters and their rather chaotic love lives, their slightly weird parents, and the greatest group of friends one can have while living on an island. Chick lit for the more mature chick. It was a good and solid book, but I do like the author’s others series better.

Tilmann Birr – On se left you see the Siegessäule

These short stories illustrated the life of a city tour guide in Berlin and his often times funny, occasionally strange, and sometimes even slightly dangerous encounters with tourists. Fun, short, entertaining, a little crazy.

Renate Bergmann – Ich bin nicht süß, ich habe bloß Zucker

The life and tales of an elderly woman and her everyday life: a race between taking care of graves of her four husbands, the funeral of friends and sometimes strangers (one does need to get out of the house and enjoy oneself), the new technology, and the perks of ebay, google, and twitter. Quite entertaining. And I couldn’t help but see my aunt in some of those stories.

Leigh Bardugo – Shadow and Bone/ Grisha: Goldene Flammen

The first book in this trilogy had an interesting premise and a fascinating world. I am interested to see how this one will continue though I had to say that it took me a while to get into it and for some reason I was a little underwhelmed. It was a good read, but the story did not stick with me. After a few weeks, I have already forgotten quite a lot.

Diana Gabaldon – Outlander/ Feuer und Stein

I have heard so much about this book and I watched the TV series (except for the last two episodes because that was just disgusting), but I am unsure how I feel about the book. It was good, yet quite a lot seemed to have been shortened. I did not really relate to Claire, the whole situation was way to strange, and she seemed to fit into so fast into the new timeline, the situation, everything. Again since this was a shortened version, I might have missed a lot of the novel’s beauty. I will surely continue to watch the series (in hope that it is less icky) and might just decide to read the book after all.

Ursula Niehaus – Die Seidenweberin

In this historical novel a young girl has to live with her more or less perverted uncle who thankfully sends her off to become a silk weaver. The life is hard, her mistress cruel, and her friends few. But she fights and becomes one of the most successful weavers in her town yet has to fight many obstacles to get there. It was an interesting and entertaining read with intrigue and few violent elements.

Leave a Reply

