Sarah J. Maas – The Assassin and the Underworld

the assassin and the pirate lord

eBook
published: 2012
publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens

Blurb:

When the King of the Assassins gives Celaena Sardothien a special assignment that will help fight slavery in the kingdom, Celaena jumps at the chance to strike a blow against the evil practice. The mission is a dark and deadly affair that takes Celaena from the rooftops of the city to the bottom of the sewer – and she doesn’t like what she finds there. (Amazon)

In (Very) Short:

+ the fourth novella set on the world of Throne of Glass
+ fast-paced
+ intrigue, action, betrayal

My Opinion:

I have read through these novellas quite quickly, yet I could not start the last one yet, as I know what will or has happened in there. But back to this story. As with the others I will not go into detail when it comes to the story, since I would spoil Throne of Glass if you haven’t read it yet.

This story was a little more emotional than the last, at least that is what I remember the most after reading it some time ago. As any other story there was action, intrigue, and betrayal. Yet, The Assassin and the Underworld resonated on a more emotional level. I felt for Celaena, I was hurt, sad, and sometimes even a little happy (though that was quickly gone, since I remembered what will happen to the characters later on). It was a fast-paced storyline with quite some twists and turns. I am a little anxious to read the last story of this novella series.

Bottom Line:

A good, fast-paced, and entertaining read.

Rating:

rating 4

Leave a Reply

